Philosophy

Philosophy

In our Äkäskero Sleddogcenter our dogs have first priority.
Many people like dogs but only a view are dedicated to take reponsibility for the entire life of a dog. We at Äkäskero are commited to provide the best we can for our more than 500 dogs. Every dog who is at our place – either because he is born here or we got/bought him – will be cared for even when old and not anymore working for us.

The law in Scandinavia gives anyone the right to kill an animal just because the animal is not anymore needed, liked or whatever. Only thing you have to take care: kill it with no pain. We at Äkäskero feel, that animals have the right to live good as long as their health permits it. Even if – in some circumstances – they have never been working.

We demand, that all persons/companies who make their living with animals have to take care for the animals even after the end of their working life. Animals are no machines.

In a sleddogcamp you should see more than 20 % of the dogs being retired. But mostly you will only see a view retired dogs (fake-oldies a known politician would call them). At this time (June 2018) we have 179 dogs eleven years old or older. The oldest one being Amaroq, born 2001. Some more dogs are retired because due to health problems they have never been able to run in a sleddogteam.
All this is ofcourse very costly and also needs a lot of work and encouragement – real doglove. Old dogs need a lot more of caretaking, medicines, attention. It is easy to fall in love for a puppy but it takes dedication to care for an old dog.
We are dedicated and commited and hope that our guests appreciat it.

Philosophie

Philosophie

Im Äkäskero Sleddogcenter kommen die Hunde an erster Stelle…
Viele Leute haben Hunde gern aber nur wenige Leute sind bereit sich für die Dauer eines Hundelebens zu verpflichten. Wir verpflichten uns für unsere mehr als 500 Hunde. Jeder Hund der bei uns ist – egal ob bei uns geboren oder ob wir ihn zugekauft oder erhalten haben –  kann sicher sein, dass wir auch im Alter für ihn sorgen werden.

Die Gesetze in Skandinavien erlauben es, dass man Tiere tötet wenn man sie nicht mehr benötigt, nicht mehr für sie sorgen will oder ganz einfach ihrer überdrüssig ist etc. Einzige Bedingung ist, dass dies möglichst schmerzfrei zu geschehen hat. Wir finden, dass Tiere ein Recht haben versorgt und gepflegt zu werden auch wenn sie nicht mehr für uns arbeiten oder manche gar nie arbeiten konnten.

Wir fordern, dass Leute/Firmen die von ihren Hunden leben, diesen auch ein würdiges Alter ermöglichen müssen. Hunde sind keine Maschinen.

Ein Schlittenhundecamp welches die alten Tiere behält hat mindestens 20 Prozent alte Hunde und nicht nur ein paar “Vorzeige-Oldies”. Bei uns leben derzeit (Stand Juni 2018) 179 Hunde die 11 Jahre alt sind oder älter. Der älteste Hund – Amaroq – ist 2001 geboren. Dazu noch ein paar Hunde die auf Grund von Verletzungen nicht mehr für Gäste laufen können.

All dies kostet natürlich nicht nur viel Geld sondern auch einen enormen Einsatz und richtige Tierliebe. Die alten Hunde benötigen eben mehr Pflege, mehr Medikamente, mehr Aufmerksamkeit als junge Hunde. Es ist leicht einen Welpen gern zu haben, es ist leicht ein super Schlittenhund zu mögen.

Wir sind bereit uns zu verpflichten und hoffen, dass unsere Gäste das auch anerkennen.